Subscribe to Pacesetter

Panthers excited for upcoming games

Katie B., Staff Reporter
November 15, 2011
Filed under Sports

The 2011-2012 basketball season has just begun. The Panthers are hyped up for the upcoming season. The basketball team has been truly been working hard for this upcoming season. They have new practice equipment that helps perfect their shoots. The boys are really pumped for this new season.

“I’m excited for the first home game and playing against Thompson,” said junior Justin B.

“I’m looking forward to my senior season. We have a good team and we want to make a run in the playoffs,” said senior Ray F.

The team has been preparing in many ways for the upcoming season. They work out and run on the track four days a week. This summer they went to a team camp and played games against teams from all over Alabama.

The team sure isn’t lacking on leaders. Some of team has been together since middle school.

“Ray, Q, and X are our biggest leaders. The seniors take up most of the leadership role. But we all get along great. That’s probably why our team plays so well together,” said junior Justin B.

As far as the upcoming season goes, the Panthers are expecting a better record than last year and to compete in the area and in the county. They also hope to get deep into the playoffs.

They varsity coaches and players are:

 

Nov.  17

Chelsea

Pelham

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Nov. 21-23

Chelsea Thanksgiving

Chelsea

 

 

 

 

TBA

Tues. Nov. 29

Briarwood

Briarwood

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Thurs.Dec. 1

Homewood

Homewood

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Thurs. Dec. 8

John Carroll

Pelham

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Fri. Dec. 9

Hueytown

Hueytown

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Tues. Dec. 13

Calera

Calera

4:30

 

6:00

 

7:30

Dec. 16-20

Shelby Cty Tournament

Montevallo

 

 

 

 

TBA

Dec. 20-23

Spain Park 9th/JV Tournament

Spain Park

TBA

 

TBA

 

 

Dec. 29-31

TBD

 TBD

 

 

 

 

TBA

Tues. Jan. 3

Hueytown

Pelham

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Thurs. Jan 5

Bibb County

Bibb Cty

 

 

4:30

6:00

7:30

Tues. Jan 10

Oak Mt. *

Pelham

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Fri. Jan 13

Hoover *

Pelham

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Tues. Jan. 17

Thompson*

Thompson

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Fri. Jan. 20

Oak Mt. *

Oak Mt

3:30

4:30

5:30

6:30

8:00

Tues. Jan. 24

Hoover*

Hoover

4:30

4:30

6:00

6:00

7:30

Fri. Jan. 27

Thompson *

Pelham

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Tues. Jan. 31

Briarwood

Pelham

6:00

4:30

4:30

6:00

7:30

Fri. Feb. 3

Bibb County

Pelham

6:00

 

4:30

6:00 7:30

Tues. Feb. 7

Calera

Pelham

6:00

 

4:30

  7:30